Many Padma aspirants were disappointed as most of them went to politicians. In Goa the Padma award was given the late Mridula Sinha for her allege contribution to education. The only deserving candidate from Goa was Vinayak Khedekar now 82 who was member secretary of the Kala Academy. The TOI seems to have declared itself as a Hindu paper as it refers to Khedekar as born in a Brahmin family of peace.

The other Padma awardees was also politicians are those close to Narendra Modi. In a blatant twist the former Chief Minister of Assam Tarun Gogi, former Gujarat Chief Minister Keshubhai Patel and former Speaker Sumitra Mahajan and former Union Minister Ram Vilas Paswan were given Padma Bhushan., The only Muslims given the Padma Vibhushan award is Islamic Scholar Maulana Wahiddudin Khan and Islamic scholar Kalbe Sadiq.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

− 2 = 6